Question

How to prevent users from editing cards?

  • 29 November 2022
  • 3 replies
  • 44 views

Since our Light Users were upgraded to Core Users, it seems that all users can edit cards - how can we stop this from happening?

 

I can’t work out how to change users’ access levels to prevent them from being able to edit cards.


3 replies

Userlevel 3

Hi James, 

That sounds like a situation where people have more permission than they need, they should have “read only” access vs “author” access to the content. Most permissions are managed from the Team Settings > Users and Collections area by setting what access Groups have to each Collection.

Here’s an example from my test instance:

 

Depending on how you have your groups, permissions, and content set up there are a number of ways to tackle this. Here are some resource that will help you see what the options are so you can decide what makes sense for your team:

I hope these help!

 

Hi Laura,

 

Thank you very much for your response!

It looks like we don’t actually have access to this feature;

I believe it’s a feature for tiers above us (we are using Starter tier) - there are hopefully some other ways around access/verification we can try. Perhaps only having 1 user per department to desseminate the information as needed?

Userlevel 3

Aww, I forgot to consider that part, sorry. 

I’m not sure what the best option would be without the ability to segment people into groups, perhaps our Support team (reachable through the widget in the web app) or the Product Specialist team would have suggestions.  

Reply